Narayan… Narayan…

July 13, 2009

Obituary for a Friend

Filed under: Uncategorized — Narayan @ 4:45 am

God – You are cruel.

You have shown me one of the most depressing moments of my life.

The day I saw this person for the first time, he had an unusual & captivating charm, an affable personality and a sparkling smile. He was one of my seniors getting introduced to the juniors. You couldn’t get angry at him however hard you wanted to be. Moments later, I realised we shared a common thread – incidentally he happened to be my junior in Engineering days. We were from God’s own country, and we introduced ourselves in the characteristic Thrissur style – “Haaa, chettayyee… enthundu vishesham” .

Over the next few months, he became one of my close friends in XIMB. In fact, I do not remember one single person in my batch who would NOT have been good friends with him. With his characteristic “Tch.. Tch..” in his speech, he was one great conversationalist.

We got to know each other better during the inaugural version of Skill City – his brainchild. The days spent at the MPH, then at the tennis courts, the constant taunting & teasing – he never lost his cool. And we successfully did manage to bring his dream of skill-city to fruition. Even during the testing times of Maxinations, I remember him for his “Bijlee” dance.

Time passed off quickly. He got placed in Tata Motors. We used to keep in touch over mail and chat. Then I heard the news about his marriage & his movement to Ford.

Life seemed to pass on, and at this point of time I really regret not having kept in touch with him personally. Who would have ever expected that the goodbye I bade him at XIMB would be the last goodbye ever.

Sometimes, we hear news we never want to believe. A week back I heard he passed into coma and was in a critical stage. I sincerely prayed he would wake up. And then, I would definitely make that trip to meet him in person. I am pretty sure, there were a lot of people praying out there for that divine interference.

But….

Life has some cruel twists and turns.

Siddarth Poduval aka Poduval ‘maashe’ aka Sid Pod aka Podu – You are alive in my memories. Never will I forget that sparkling smile of yours.

I dunno what else to say… I choke for words. All I can say, God loved you more than us. But… He was cruel to mortals like us.

– Naru

3 Comments »

  1. It is a befitting obituary, Narayan. Thanks for putting all your feelings upfront so that the rest of us can also pick up a few to relate to. I distinctly remember his ever-smiling face and ultra polite & sweet conversations; Even when he would be nervous about something, he would still try and bring down yours with some vague but encouraging words of cheer..

    I wasn’t as close a pal of his as many of you were but a smiling friend is always remembered, across the years and miles..and when his death has affected me so much, I pray that not just his family but also all you close buddies of his get enough strength to bear his loss..

    Comment by Soumya — July 13, 2009 @ 5:21 am | Reply

  2. So true.

    I just wrote to Dr. Lata Ravindran about an incident. Sidharth was one of the key persons involved in the introduction of the custom of serving “Onam Sadhya” at XIM – a great idea. He was with his impish smile serving food, resplendent in the “mundu”. When he gave me extra dessert, I joked with his that he would get a job on Day 1 because of this gesture. And sure enough, when he got into Tata Motors and we announced it outside the Placement “war room”, he remembered that incident and joked “Sir, the payasam really worked”.

    We will miss him.

    Comment by S Govindrajan — July 14, 2009 @ 2:29 am | Reply

  3. shocking….Naru, can relate so much to what you wrote…

    Comment by Catherine — July 14, 2009 @ 2:44 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

